Interview: Literary Classics Award Winner, C.M. Huddleston

This year, C.M. Huddleston won Literary Classics Book Awards Gold in Middle Grade Historical Fiction for her book, Greg’s Second Adventure in Time. The first book in her time travel series received Gold in last year’s contest. I’m excited to feature her time travel tales! Read on for more about Huddleston’s award-winning books.

Congratulations on your achievement! When did you first start writing?

I wrote my first children’s book in 1988 while between jobs as an archaeologist. I was bored, living in a new town, and decided to write a novel.

What’s the target age group for your books?

Middle grade, 4th to 7th

What inspired your award-winning books?

I am from Kentucky. My family has been here for ten generations. So I wanted to tell about our beginning, our part in the American Revolution. I wanted children to learn the true story of Daniel Boone and the men and women who stood with him for those two long weeks at Boonesborough.

Describe one of your characters with a cliché or a famous quote.

Motormouth Greg writes each story just like he talks.

Do you have plans to, or have you already, released audio editions of your books?

I don’t have any plans to do an audio edition at this time. Other than teaching accurate history with my books, I also want children to actually read.  I love audio books and know there is a place and a time for listening as well as reading; however, I would rather have parents read to their children than have them listen to a stranger.

Who would you cast as the voice actor for your main character?

If I ever did an audio book I would ask my nephew Jake Anderson because I love his voice.

Do you illustrate your own books? If not, how did you find your illustrator?

I have illustrations in my books, but they are taken from nineteenth century books or are copyright free. I can’t draw anything!

Who are some of your favorite YA and/or children’s book authors?

I have recently read two books by Karen Stone, several by M.J. Evans, and three by Patricia Reding, all CLC winners.  I loved their books! I read, or at least start reading, several children’s books each week for my blog Monday Morning Indie. I then interview the author and review the book. I have to say that each week I find some really poorly written books and always a gem – a real diamond of a story.  I guess my favorite recently has been Beauty & the Beast by Rebecca Hammond Yager!  She won the Words on Wings award this year. I can’t wait for her next book.

Do you have any quirky writing habits?  

I have been told I am doing it all wrong. You see, each day I read from the beginning of the manuscript and edit as I go. Then I add on to the story. By doing this I think I find plot flaws, typos, etc. .  As the story gets longer, I might skip the first chapter or two so that I actually have time to write. Most creative writing teachers tell me not to do this, but with two gold medals, it just might be the way I need to write.

How do you balance writing with book promotion and everything else there is to do in life?

Mondays!!! I write and post my blog, Monday Morning Indie on Monday morning and then do any marketing I need to do for the rest of the day. I might prepare things to post or send out later in the week, tweet, etc. . . I look for authors for my blog. I prepare press releases.  Then throughout the week, I have less to do for marketing and can write. Now, this doesn’t always work, because right now it is Friday, and I am answering interview questions. As for the rest of life, I work on my writing Monday through Friday from about 9 am to about 5:30 pm. I rarely work on weekends and never at night.

Do you have anything special you’d like to say to your readers or fellow award-winning authors? 

I firmly believe that we, as Indie and small press authors, can achieve our goals if we work together to promote each other’s work. That’s why I began Monday Morning Indie about one year ago. I met many talented, but under-recognized authors at my first Literary Classics award events and wanted to do something to help us all get our names out to our reading public. This year I have put together an anthology of eleven short stories from nine Indie authors based on characters in our books. It is entitled Winter Wonder and will be available in early October on Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Many of the short story authors are CLC award winners!

Author Bio

C. M. Huddleston loved history and dreamed of writing a book even as a child. Instead, she became an Army wife, mother, elementary school teacher, archaeologist, and historic preservation consultant, before publishing her first book! In 2016, she published her seventh and eighth volumes, all dealing with her first love, our nation’s past. While three are written for children, her other works are histories for adults on a variety of subjects.

Connie resides in a log cabin in Kentucky, with her husband Charlie and their Australian Shepherd Katie. They all enjoy the quiet of rural Kentucky.

Connect with her on Amazon, Facebook, Goodreads, and her website.

Award-Winning Books

Greg’s First Adventure in Time: Twelve year old Greg mysteriously time travels 3,000 years into the past. Now a Native American boy has a spear pointed directly at his heart. Greg’s scared, worried, and hungry!  Can he trust this stranger, can he get home, can he survive? Join Greg on his first adventure where there are moose to hunt and wolves to worry about, along with loads of fun! Greg’s wild adventures will excite and enlighten all while telling a rousing story about a young boy’s intriguing encounter with Native Americans.

Greg’s Second Adventure in Time: Greg’s first adventure in time travel happened quite by accident, and now he’s time jumped once again, right into 1778. Still not understanding how to get back to his own time, Greg travels farther into rural Kentucky and right into an Indian uprising. New friends, American heroes, and famous battles fill Greg’s days as the months pass. How will Greg get home?  Will he survive an Indian siege? Enjoy a romp through history in this fast-moving story of our nation’s frontier during the American Revolution.

“Action and adventure abound in this deliciously entertaining read that is likely to spur a keen interest in young readers, as history takes center stage in the continuation of this delightful series.” Literary Classics Book Awards

In 2016, Greg’s First Adventure in Time won a gold medal for middle grade fiction from Children’s Literary Classics after receiving their Seal of Approval in 2015. In  2017, Greg’s Second Adventure in Time won a gold medal for middle grade historical fiction from Children’s Literary Classics. Greg’s Adventures in Time are available in print and ebook versions. Learn more and find lesson plans and activities for each book at www.cmhuddleston.com.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this series of award-winning author interviews as much as I did. Want to read more? Browse my blog’s interview page.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

