Attempt to Improve Prose with Poetry

Never stop improving, right? I’m reading a book on writing poetry to help make my stories more tangible. So much meaning can be packed into this form of writing, with room for additional interpretation–which is exactly how I like to read and write fiction. For example, I have three different interpretations, as well as multiple tones, in mind for the following poem I wrote while practicing. I hope you enjoy your own personal reading of each line.

Pretense
Learn the etymology of my meaning.
Feel the presence of my light.
Hear the voice fill the emptiness I’m dreaming.
Note the absence of my fight.
Claim the measured rest when my heart stops beating.
Lose the credence that is sight.
Learn the etymology of my meaning.
Feel the presence of my light.

 

2 comments

  1. Very good practice to improve your writing! I believe wholeheartedly in using different forms of writing to improve your usual form. Poetry is great as well as haiku and Twitter-length prose. This came out really nicely. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

