Christina McMullen tells us about her The Eyes of The Sun relaunch!

Today’s a great day because I get to welcome Christina McMullen to my blog. She just relaunched her vampire series and graciously answered questions I had about it. Read on for more about this talented author and her spin on a literary favorite!

Eyes Relaunch Promo

The Eyes of The Sun is a fantasy (and science fiction!) series about vampires in New Orleans. I’m intrigued by the sci-fi component. Could you give a quick description to readers new to the series?

The series revolves around the life of a young woman named Lucy Soriano who has come to New Orleans after the death of her grandmother, intent on finding information on a father she never knew. What she finds instead is that monsters are real and that she not only might be one herself, but she is also recruited into a super secret organization hellbent on eliminating the vampire threat once and for all. In many ways she appears to be the standard paranormal ‘chosen one,’ but Lucy’s actually a bit more complex than she might first appear.

The vampires in this series are very nontraditional. Instead of being undead, they are simply a species very similar to human. However, there are some vamps who have furthered their species through genetic manipulations, the side effects of which are very likely responsible for many of the traits associated with the vampires of folklore.

You first published Eyes of The Sun in late 2012. Why re-release the series now?

There were several factors involved in deciding to relaunch. For one, when I originally wrote The Eyes of The Sun, I was new to the concept of self-publishing and as such, released a book that could have used a bit more editing. Also, having been written on several different machines using several different word processing programs, the series had no uniformity. I’ve since created a simple template that I use to ensure that all of my ebooks are clean and easy to read regardless of the device used. And finally, there’s the covers, which I will talk more about in a moment.

The series will be released as paperbacks for the first time. Any idea when that will happen?

Hopefully by the end of July. I’ve got the interiors formatted and I just have to put the finishing touches on the covers.

What’s the story behind the snazzy dark covers that give just a peek into the background?

My previous covers were difficult to read and like the books, not uniform in size. Plus, when I created them, I did so thinking they would be ebooks only, which means the resolution was too low for print. And if I’m being honest, the original cover for Bluebeard’s Children was something of a hot mess.

I considered changing the covers entirely, but I really liked the cover I’d had painted for Mother of Darkness (it’s meant to be a painting that plays a key role in the story) and felt that keeping some elements from the previous covers might also prevent some confusion as to whether these were new books or not.

I read the prequel, Dissonant, which has a super fun take on vampires and which you published more recently. Do you plan to relaunch Dissonant as well?

I haven’t yet decided if I’m changing anything. I’ll happily admit that my broken DNA strand on the cover came about as the result of a happy accident, but I like it and I’m not sure if I want to do anything to change it. Since it’s a short story, It will not be available in paperback unless I decide to publish an anthology of shorts from the series. That is something that I’m not planning at the moment, but is not at all out of the realm of possibility.

Congrats on your relaunch, Christina! Where do we find your books, and how do we contact you?

All of the books in the series are available for purchase from Amazon and may be read for free with Kindle Unlimited.

McMullenAuthorPhotoFacebook: facebook.com/mcmullenwrites

Twitter: twitter.com/mcmullenwrites

Goodreads: goodreads.com/cmcmullen

Christina McMullen is a science fiction and fantasy author who is may be pale, but is most assuredly not a vampire. She currently resides in Texas with her wonderfully supportive husband and three dogs. When she isn’t writing, Christina enjoys travel, vegan cooking, modern and classical art, and of course, reading.

Leave a Reply

