The Story Hop

My family’s holiday gatherings are all about good food and stories being passed down to the next generation. This story combines both.

My Italian-American grandmother was an expressive storyteller. One of my favorites is about how a local bachelor bargained for her hand in marriage for the price of potentially limitless wine grapes. The bargain wasn’t with Grandma, though. It was with her father. Here’s my best attempt at retelling Grandma’s story, from her point of view.*

I was sitting in the living room with your Grandpap–who I was seeing at the time–when there was a knock at the door. In came a short and fat man who knew my father.

“You know, Martino,” he said. “You have a beautiful daughter.”

From the living room we could hear what was going on. Grandpap whispered to me, “He’s an Italian. I’m Irish. Your father will want you to marry him, not me.”

“Oh yeah. So beautiful, such a prize!” I roll my eyes. “Well, that’s too bad. I don’t want him. He can have him.”

The man said to my father, “I know you like wine, Martino. I will buy you the grapes for you to make the wine, if I can marry your daughter.”

Grandpap whispered to me, “I wonder what he’s going to say.”

“Oh, no, no,” my father said. “She has a boy-a-friend.”

“Oh,” said the man, raising his hands. “Scusa, scusa…”

“See,” I said. “My father likes you.”

I hope you enjoyed Grandma’s story. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Find more stops on The Story Hop here!

See you back at the 2015 Author Cyber Convention Fairgrounds! I’ll be hanging out at my booth (The Call to Search Everywhen). Don’t forget to enter the Scavenger Hunt Giveaway!

*Names have been changed or eliminated to protect the identities of the living and deceased.

4 comments

  1. I love it when families can share stories passed down through the generations. Please follow my wwannwrites blog for som of my inspirational and fun writings. Love and prayers, and happy writing.

Leave a Reply

