Treasure Tuesday: Gifts with Heart

Gifts with HeartMore than five years ago I was on medical leave for six weeks after surgery. Before leave started, one of my co-workers presented me with a gift to keep me company while I recovered.

According to her, I was the “only other person she knew who would actually read” the types of books she enjoyed. So, do you know what she did? She went on eBay and found copies of her favorites, packed them all up in a tote bag and gave them to me.

See that little blue card in the fifth book? That’s a handwritten note describing what she remembered or loved most about the story. Every single book has one. And the books pictured are only a handful from the bag.

People never cease to amaze me with their kindness. I will always treasure her gift, not just the books, but her thoughts about the stories and her willingness to share them with me.

Leave a Reply

