One Lovely Blog Hop

This blog hop is designed to show our readers a more personal side. We list seven interesting facts to help cast light onto that tough writer’s persona we all like to project. But I am human and like everyone else I have dreams, hobbies, problems and goals. I see this as a way to share some of them with you, my readers.

The rules are that I share ❤ 7 Lovely Facts about myself, and links to at least 15 blogs that I enjoy reading. If I’ve nominated your blog, please don’t feel any obligation to join in, but if you do please link back to the blog of the person who nominated you (that would be me), share 7 facts about yourself and nominate 15 blogs (or as many as you can).

I was reading some of the other blogs on this tour. There are some remarkable and gifted writers here and I’m happy to be in their company. Many thanks to Tim Hemlin, author of The Wastelanders, for adding me to the blog tour! Tim is a wonderful author and an all-around good person. His blog focuses on general writing topics and provides updates on his own work, running and lifestyle.

❤ Here are 7 Lovely Facts about me:

1) I’m a bowler. I bowl in two leagues and compete in tournaments (without embarrassing myself…too much).

2) My house is filled with musical instruments. I’ve played the flute since I was nine years old and also played the saxophone in high school and college. My husband and I have a combined collection that includes a concert flute, glass flute, recorder, tin whistle, wooden flute (or two), harmonica, saxophone, piano and two ukuleles.

3) I’ve worked in the legal field for the last decade. And that’s probably all I need to (or should) say about that. 😉

4) I love to travel. I’ve only been abroad twice, but I’ve managed to visit France, Italy, Spain, Turkey, Greece, Monaco and Mexico.

5) My top favorite movies of all time are The Princess Bride and The Labyrinth. During a recent trip to Seattle (refer to lovely fact no. 4 above), I saw a display at the EMP museum featuring these two movies side by side. It was fantasy heaven. My pictures didn’t come out so well, but here’s a cool world building plaque…and a Winkie costume, just c’Oz.

World Building Plaque Winkie

6) I strongly believe that going to themed fairs and festivals is much more fun when attended in costume. Most recently, I’ve dressed up for a Renaissance fair, Pirate festival, Obon dance festival and Literary-themed costume party. My H. G. Wells time travel ensemble won a prize for being the “most unusual” costume. 🙂

7) I have a serious food repulsion to eggs. Scrambled, hard boiled, sunny side up, the thin lining that surrounds french toast, the teeny tiny pieces that I so carefully pick out of potato salad and fried rice—blech! Yet, I love custard and mayonnaise which both have egg as a main ingredient. Weird? Yes. Lovely? Not so much.

Those are 7 facts about me, lovely or not.

❤ Some of my favorite bloggers are listed below. Participation is optional, of course. If you have already been tagged for this, so sorry! If not, share some of you with the rest of us. Check out the linked books and blogs!

L. A. Starkey is the YA urban fantasy author of Deceived and its sequel Destroyed. I have my copy of Deceived and am looking forward to reading it! Her blog features her writing muses and love of music.

Kira Adams writes YA and NA romance, horror, action, fantasy and non-fiction. Talk about variety! Her Sing Me Anything… blog keeps Kira’s readers updated on her upcoming projects, book series and current giveaways such as the gigantic Indie Fall Fest giveaway. Be sure to stop by before the festivities end!

Christina McMullen is a talented author, with a nice library of books available on her Amazon page. She denies having artistic talent, but check out the artwork for her upcoming novel, Past Life Strife. Christina’s Vampires & Robots blog gives more insight into her writing and art, support of indie books and thoughts on what it really means to be a successful author.

Kara Jorgensen is working on her MFA in Creative Writing. Her blog traces her journey as a writer and provides info updates about her Steampunk novel, The Earl of Brass. The reviews are excellent. Check it out!

Kristen’s Pretty Little Pages blog is a lovely book review site where readers can get the scoop on the latest books, indie titles and tons of fabulous giveaways. She’s currently hosting Indie Fall Fest, a seasonal event of giveaways, author interviews, creative writing prompts and other writing fun by and about indie authors. Kristen was also the first person to interview me just after the release of Travel Glasses. 🙂

Claudia writes This Is My Soul Called Life, a busy and beautifully written book blog. There’s always something going on there, whether it’s a book review, teaser, giveaway, blog hop or heartwarming update about Claudia’s family life. The layout is also rather pretty.

Jenni Everidge is a fellow writer who I met through my local writing group. She’s super fun and has a strong background in American literature. Her blog, Time to Find a Real Job, showcases her poetry and “random musings”—her words, not mine.

Patrick McQueen is another writer I know through my local writing group. He’s feverishly working on a novel as a NaNoWriMo participant. Go Patrick! His shorter pieces can be found on his Mortal Musings blog.

Arizona Lowe is a phenomenal photographer and blogger. Her blog and twitter page are filled with inspirational and interesting quotes, mainly geared toward positive thinking. Her current project, Today’s Visions, is a site dedicated to connecting indie authors and artists to others through social media.

Bill Baldwin organizes the Open Mic Nights for my local writing group. He’s a longtime writer of poetry, novellas, stories and plays. He’s currently putting together something called the Underground. I’m not quite sure what that is yet, but I have a feeling I will be involved. Find out more about Bill’s projects and general happenings on his Grail and Wand blog.

Larry LaForge is a writer who contributes to Flash Fiction Magazine. He writes drabbles, which are complete stories of only 100 words. Stop by his Larry La Forge 100 Words blog to see what I mean. Larry has also given me the honor of sharing one of his original stories for Frabble Friday.

Last but not least, I recently came across the book blog, Une Fille à La Vanille. Ready for unofficial lovely fact no. 8? I studied both French and English literature, and French is my favorite—La Fontaine, Hugo, Maupassant, Sartre, Rostand! But those are old authors; La Vanille will help me learn about new authors and new stories. See, for example, her review of Les Yeux Jaunes de Crocodiles by Katherine Pancol.

❤ I hope you enjoyed my stop on the blog hop. Keep reading, continue writing and be well!

8 comments

  1. Congrats on the nomination, your blog is quite lovely ❤

    1. Chess, I own a ukulele too! I also know how to play the flute and clarinet, but I think I am in love with my ukulele most 🙂

    2. Growing up, I wanted to work in the legal field. In fact, I went to school to obtain my paralegal license, but I fell in love and had babies instead. By the way, you totally look like a "Legal Firm" type of gal too 😉

    3. I am envious of your travels, I wonder if I ever will get to travel at all! Having four little ones, makes traveling quite expensive. Which country did you enjoy the most?

    4. Costume parties? You’re so awesome! I’ve yet to find a suitable party to wear my Wonder Woman costume to ha ha! 😄

    Such a fun post! Thanks for the nomination too 🙂

    1. Thanks, Claudia. 🙂 I can’t wait to see your seven fun facts. Italy was my favorite, but Turkey came in a close second. Wonder Woman rocks! You could wear your costume to Comic-Con! I’m not sure whether the venue I’ve linked is the closest Comic-Con to you, but it looks like a family friendly event! I still hope to go one day.

Leave a Reply

