Tagged! The World Book Blog Tour

The World Book Blog Tour is an invitation to share not only an author’s work but also the work of other authors/writers. Then the idea is to pass it on in hopes of authors reaching authors and readers across the globe. Thanks to all of you who jumped on board to participate in the fun!

Many thanks to Tim Hemlin for adding me to the tour! Tim has written a number of books, most recently the cli-fi dystopian novel The Wastelanders. I am absorbed in this book right now; and let me tell you, Tim’s passion for environmental concerns, research of the subject matter and attention to detail radiate through his writing. He teaches, runs marathons and is currently working on a YA urban fantasy. I’m looking forward to more of his writing and his next book! To learn more about Tim, check out his website at timhemlin.com and follow him on Twitter @TimHemlin.

These are the question posed by the World Book Blog Tour:

What am I working on?

I have a number of projects going on right now. I’m editing and revising the second installment in The Call to Search Everywhen serial series. Additionally, I’m writing Instruments of Piece, a collection of flash fiction stories that feature different musical instruments in fantasy settings. The first three stories, The Floating Flautist, Trompette and Well Plaid, are all free to read at Flash Fiction Magazine and on Wattpad. I also enjoy contributing to my local writing group’s monthly newsletter.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My writing is deeply rooted in fables and fantasy, which influenced how I wrote Travel Glasses. Even though it’s a time travel story, the characters don’t just travel back and forth in time within their city, country or even the Earth. My characters build and learn how to use technologies that take them to other worlds with different time schemes. There are also multiple methods of time travel, some that are licensed and official and others that are not. The main character, Calla, stumbles upon all of this without any background whatsoever. Readers get to experience her adventures traveling through time and space as she does, as well her wonderment and second-guessing about what is happening and what it all means…until she uncovers the pieces she needs for everything to click. That’s the type of story I like to read (and the type of movie I like to watch). I enjoy looking for clues and trying to predict what will happen next; and so this is the type of story that I wanted to write and share with YA readers.

Why do I write what I do?

My favorite quote about writing fantasy is by Lloyd Alexander (author of The Black Cauldron). He said, “Fantasy is hardly an escape from reality. It’s a way of understanding it.” I think that fantasy elements in a work distance readers just enough from the story so that they can form objective opinions about the characters and, yet, internalize what that means about themselves and the world around them without feeling overwhelmed or attacked. Take fables, for instance. They’re all about talking animals playing out behavioral situations and teaching lessons about right versus wrong. I grew up reading children’s adaptations of fables by the French fabulist and poet, Jean de La Fontaine. As a child I enjoyed his animal characters and the practical lessons they demonstrated. Much later, I studied his works in French and fell in love with them all over again. His stories have stayed with me, and although my characters may travel to or live in outside worlds with complex rules and themes, I think readers can learn more about themselves and their own relationships by how they react to the story and its characters.

How does my writing process work?

I have a tendency to write shorter pieces and let the characters guide the way. Sometimes I prepare a rough outline, but more typically I free write and then carve out a path. Sometimes it’s all a mystery to me until I’m in the middle of writing the story. For example, I planned for Travel Glasses to be a short story. But then it grew to become a novel. While writing the last third of the story I realized that Travel Glasses would be the first part of a series. I suspect that the more I got to know the characters, the more intricate they and their stories became. So far, that hasn’t happened with any other story I’ve written.

**Next stop on the World Book Blog Tour?**

Mark Shaw is the talented author of The Keeper of the Wind and the mastermind behind the Twitter hashtag and movement #IndieBooksBeSeen. He is a U.S. Navy veteran who is full of energy and boundless encouragement for indie authors trying to get their work in front of readers. Mark’s outward focus is contagious. He wants readers to discover a new world of books and wants to see writers shine! Follow Mark’s Twitter handle @MarkTheShaw and visit indiebooksbeseen.com to learn how to support the movement.

Fleur Camacho recently penned The Last Seeker (Tristen Book 1) which is currently available for pre-order on Amazon. I can hardly wait for the book’s October 16 release to find out more about Tristen’s adventures traveling through time! Go Fleur! Nice genre choice, by the way. 😉 Help make her debut novel launch one to remember by visiting her website at fleurcamacho.com and following her on Twitter @fleurcamacho.

Christina McMullen is a sci-fi and urban fantasy author who has written several books. Christina’s most recent work, Kind of Like Life, is a YA sci-fi novel. And now that I’ve read the book blurb, featuring a girl who loves fantasy and fairy tales, that one is on deck for me to read. 😀 If you’re into vampires, you may want to check out The Eyes of the Sun series on Amazon. Follow Christina on Twitter @mcmullenwrites! She and I share a certain fondness for irony and cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

